Newbie Needing HT Guidance

AVForums

Help Support AVForums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MeTsU

AVForums Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I don't post much on here.  I'm still a noob of note and have a lot to learn.  I was pointed to this forum a while ago by a member, who I bought an Onkyo HT-S5405 HTIB from.

It's been a lovely upgrade from our Sony HTIB we used to have (the sound wasn't round, often too trebly or bassy).  I know it's a far cry from what most of you have as kit.  But my plan was to try start somewhere, and start with a good entry level setup.

I'm looking for advice and guidance and wanting to learn.  I've slowly started to spend a little more time on here, allowing me to understand bipole & dipole speakers.  The thread about cable quality was interesting reading too, to mention one of a bunch of various I've been following.

My budget is very tight compared to most, and I wanted to start off by looking at what I need to aim for, so I can budget for those items.  My plan of action, is to slowly replace the stock Onkyo speakers (not sure if I should start center, then fronts, then surrounds, then sub).  And finally, upgrade the receiver.  Does this sound like a good idea?

To give a bit of background, I used to do music (played clarinet & bass clarinet) both at school as well as for the EC Philharmonic Orchestra, for around 11-12 years.  I've got a somewhat musical ear and can appreciate most genres. We predominantly use the setup to watch movies & tv shows.  We have a Samsung 50" LED and HP Microserver running Openelec.