Adventures into DIY

AVForums

Help Support AVForums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

niekz

Reaction score
Hi folks.

So lemme start off by saying, I am a complete novice, so please excuse me if my questions seem obvious to those that have been through this a while.
I love tinkering, as well as learning, so the bug has bit me a bit with digging into audio, and seems like a fun hobby to take on.

Background - I want to upgrade my daily audio setup. I work at a desk in a home office 10-16 hours a day, swapping between headphones and speakers depending on the task.
My speaker setup atm is what I would consider bottom of the barrel (cheap pc speakers from 12 years ago - creative 2.1 setup hooked directly into line-in 3.5mm on my PC).
I've always spent on other components, but never really on audio, as it always felt like "high-end" was unobtainium in terms of cost. Now that I'm doing a bit better in life, I feel
like perhaps I can do better ;)

Goal - Replace my current setup with something basic. I have an idea to build me a pair of 4" bookshelf speakers (4" woofer w/ 1" tweeter) as a start, and possibly add a 8" sub later on
as money allows (and if needed at all).

Q1 - Since I've never experienced "decent" audio (at least in my opinion), is it realistic that a set that I build from scratch would sound better than the set I have at the moment? My inclination
is to say yes, but I have no measure as to what to expect.

Q2 - What is the general consensus on costing for a "budget" setup for 2 bookshelves build DIY? I am not planning to design everything myself, and will likely be following some plans from online sources,