Review: Polk TSX 550T and Harman Kardon STR 3770

AVForums

Help Support AVForums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Shane

Reaction score
I've been lurking here for the last few months, trying to absorb as much info as possible before parting with my hard earned cash. Finally settled on Polk and HK. There doesn't seem to be many reviews on the items listed, so I thought I might give it a bash. I love music, but I'm new to the audiophile thing. Although I don't consider myself an audiophile, I do know what I like and maybe others here have similar preferences.

I was originally considering a JBL cinema SB400 soundbar, until a member here pointed out the error of my ways. My initial budget was around the R8K mark. Unfortunately, or fortunately, I missed that mark by quite some margin.

My taste in music is mostly rock and dance music. (psytrance, trance and progressive house) I also like to listen to it loud, so I had to choose something that would cater to that without completely bankrupting myself. A far more daunting task than I originally anticipated, considering the sheer amount of information I had to wade through. Also, most manufacturers like to confuse the matter by deliberately posting specs that don't seem to be worth the paper they are printed on.

Anyway, enough background info.