Atmos and DTS X DYI Resources

AVForums

Help Support AVForums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JMG

AVForums Member
AV Forums Supporter
Reaction score
I could not find a resource on DIY Atoms/ DTS-X installations so I have done some research for my own system. These are my views and may be of assistance to you if you are considering an immersive system. This is not a definitive guide as I am not an expert but members can post their experience so to create a better resource for those interested. Please add to the resource list.

Recommend resources I found helpfull:
http://www.dolby.com/us/en/guide/dolby-atmos-speaker-setup/index.html

Also check out Twit.tv Home Theater Geeks episode 222, Q&A Dolby Atoms https://twit.tv/shows/home-theater-geeks/episodes/222?autostart=false

Also episode 233, Acoustics for immersive audio https://twit.tv/shows/home-theater-geeks/episodes/233?autostart=false. (This was very helpfull to me)

Speak to your preferred Hometheater electronics supplier but many have limited experience due to the relatively recent technology development of immersive home theater.

I felt that Dolby's recommendation, in relation to the in-line placement of ceiling/Atoms speakers to the front L/R, did not quite make sense due to closer proximity of the listener to Atoms speakers compared to the fronts.
I could not find any guide for DTS-X but DTS says that its system will work with what ever ceiling speaker setup you have and therefor relying on DSP in my view. I would rather then follow solid acoustic principles to give the DSP a hand and in that way getting the best that immersive technology has to offer. If you are like me, getting to the best possible sound experience is what it is all about.

My view on general considerations when planning an Atoms or DTS-X system are:
1. Ceiling or Atoms enabled speakers.