Author Topic: Anybody here got an itch to build a FirstWatt F5 amp?  (Read 104915 times)

Offline ghostinthemachine

  • Commercial Member
  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,162
Anybody here got an itch to build a FirstWatt F5 amp?
« on: May 10, 2011, 06:09:23 PM »
Anybody here got an itch to build a FirstWatt F5 amp?



I do...
Inactive

Offline ghostinthemachine

  • Commercial Member
  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,162
Re: Anybody here got an itch to build a Firs****t F5 amp?
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2011, 06:11:26 PM »
Firstwatt
Firstwatt
Firstwatt
Firstwatt
Firstwatt
Firstwatt
Firstwatt
Inactive

Offline ghostinthemachine

  • Commercial Member
  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,162
Re: Anybody here got an itch to build a Firs****t F5 amp?
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2011, 06:12:22 PM »
t w a t

T W A T ?? ? ? ?

H U H ?

Why is t w a t censored?
Inactive

Offline GearSlave

  • Peacekeeper Extraordinaire
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,796
  • Ohm's Law has no business in Audio
    • Studio B
Re: Anybody here got an itch to build a Firs****t F5 amp?
« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2011, 06:22:02 PM »
Why is t w a t censored?

So that t w a t s like you don't use it :D

Try First-watt
Resistance is not futile; it is voltage divided by current (R=V/I)

Offline Shonver

  • Trade Count: (+7)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 9,723
  • Criss-cross rhythms that explode with happiness
    • Elipse (under construction)
Re: Anybody here got an itch to build a Firs****t F5 amp?
« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2011, 06:36:26 PM »
Why is t w a t censored?

'cause you said vis t w a t
________________

DON'T PANIC
Capie

Offline Prince

  • Forum Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+8)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,680
Re: Anybody here got an itch to build a Firs****t F5 amp?
« Reply #5 on: May 10, 2011, 09:00:37 PM »
So that t w a t s like you don't use it :D

Try First-watt

Watt kind of amp is that??
-uses??

;)
"F5 Amp Power + Pedal Power = F5 Pedal Power"

Offline ghostinthemachine

  • Commercial Member
  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,162
Re: Anybody here got an itch to build a Firs****t F5 amp?
« Reply #6 on: May 10, 2011, 10:00:29 PM »
Watt kind of amp is that??
-uses??

;)

Ashley - Google First-Watt F5 by Nelson Pass...
Inactive

Offline Hi-Phibian

  • Commercial Member
  • Trade Count: (+37)
  • *****
  • Posts: 10,719
  • I really prefer email, see my banner for address..
    • Croak Audio Exploration
Re: Anybody here got an itch to build a Firs****t F5 amp?
« Reply #7 on: May 10, 2011, 10:02:47 PM »
Watt kind of amp is that??
-uses??

;)

Beautiful reproduction of whispers and other soft sounds UNLESS YOU HAVE SOME NICE EFFICIENT SPEAKERS.
Proprietor of Croak Audio Exploration.
Fair, not crazy, cash paid for turntables and tonearms from Rega, Linn and Thorens.          http://www.croak.co.za

Offline chipwelder

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,046
Re: Anybody here got an itch to build a Firs****t F5 amp?
« Reply #8 on: May 10, 2011, 10:18:30 PM »
The first watt is the deepest, baby i know! the first watt is the cheapest....

I like the concept... what are you choosing 2nd order or third order distortion?
OK! I've had it! I don't give anymore Kharma. Kharma should work in mysterious ways...

Offline Ampdog

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,664
Re: Anybody here got an itch to build a Firs****t F5 amp?
« Reply #9 on: May 10, 2011, 11:54:02 PM »
After all that .... could anybody give a reference to where the schematic could be found? All I could get from in between the usuall promotional fodder is half a diagram (input stage) and some distortion graphs. Must still have to learn a lot of googling skills, I fancy.
Creativity requires the courage to let go of certainties.  (Erich Fromm)

Offline ...

  • Account Locked
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,468
Re: Anybody here got an itch to build a Firs****t F5 amp?
« Reply #10 on: May 11, 2011, 08:16:16 AM »
After all that .... could anybody give a reference to where the schematic could be found? All I could get from in between the usuall promotional fodder is half a diagram (input stage) and some distortion graphs. Must still have to learn a lot of googling skills, I fancy.
One thing of importance Oom, safe search.

Offline tangmonster

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,736
Re: Anybody here got an itch to build a Firs****t F5 amp?
« Reply #11 on: May 11, 2011, 08:30:48 AM »
http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/pass-labs/

Nelson pass's f4 and f5 is legendary under diy audio.

I like the idea of a bridged f5's per channel more than a plain one though.

here is the f5 thread with LOTS of information:

http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/pass-labs/121228-f5-power-amplifier.html

pdf:

http://www.firs****t.com/pdf/prod_f5_man.pdf

i was VERY VERY close to building a bridged design when I opted for the ksa 50 build I posted in this forum.

Over at DIYaudio they are selling boards too:

14 euro for a stereo pair

http://www.diyaudio.com/store/europe/pcb-bank-europe/f4-f5-europe.html?dir=asc&mode=list&order=price

« Last Edit: May 11, 2011, 08:36:07 AM by tangmonster »

Offline Crankshaft

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,397
Re: Anybody here got an itch to build a Firs****t F5 amp?
« Reply #12 on: May 11, 2011, 08:39:11 AM »
+1

Let's get a batch of pcb's organized.

Crank

Online gavinbirss

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,063
Re: Anybody here got an itch to build a Firs****t F5 amp?
« Reply #13 on: May 11, 2011, 08:45:22 AM »
Quote
Anybody here got an itch to build a Firs****t F5 amp?

I thought about it for some time...

I thought of the paradime shift going bonkers about some big high effecncy transmission line loudpeakers...  ;D

Maybe Vandersteen 1C's would work with F5?

Offline ghostinthemachine

  • Commercial Member
  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,162
Re: Anybody here got an itch to build a Firs****t F5 amp?
« Reply #14 on: May 11, 2011, 09:10:41 AM »
+1

Let's get a batch of pcb's organized.

Crank

Cant be that $$$$ - even naked boards with only the tinned copper tracks will be fine.
Inactive