Technics SL1100 setup

AusGekaut

Reaction score
Good day

I am new in vinyl business. I bought a Technics SL1100 with a Acos Lustre GST1 tonearm and a Audio Technica AT95E cartridge. I downloaded the manuals from vinylengine as I didn't get any when I bought the TT. As I looked through the manual I tried to setup correctly. I failed somewhat, mostly because I couldn't identify the pictures.

I could probably leave the tonearm in place (I trust that the previous owner did it correct) and only adjust the weight and anti-scating.
This is where I am stuck. On youtube they use different tools, but in the manual they never mention any.
So my question is how do I setup the weight and anti-scating correctly?

Another question: Is there any indications when the needle has to be replaced (except probably audio quality)?

S

Schmuck

Welcome to the "dark side"...  :giggle:

You should not need any tools to set up the tracking and anti-skid.
It is just a matter of balancing the arm and turning the counterweight (clock or anti-clockwise) as well as the anti-skid indicator wheel on the arm.
Anti-skid is usually about 75% or more of your tracking force.

I.e. for your cart the tracking force is recommended @ 2.0g, so the anti-skid wheel should be turned to 1.75 up to 2 on the indicator.

Make sense?  :dop:

mafioso

AVForums Grandmaster
Reaction score
The above is +- correct. If you want to reset the tracking force, first turn the bias/anti-skating dial to 0. Then balance the arm until it floats. Set the counterweight's dial to 0 and then dial in 2.0g or whatever tracking weight required. Last step, set the anti-skating dial to 1.7 or whatever.

Keep the stylus guard if fitted, on during this procedure.

Instruct your wife or gf or Demolition Doris to stay away from your turntable with dusters, stoflappe or whatever.

Do not over-indulge with alcohol, tik or whatever while playing records. And the same goes for your guests.