Intelligent battery charger

Status
Not open for further replies.

MusicMan_ZA

AVForums Grandmaster
Joined
Jul 14, 2013
Messages
2,695
Reaction score
441
Location
Cape Town

GECO

AVForums Grandmaster
Joined
Oct 11, 2007
Messages
8,592
Reaction score
514
Awesome charger but what about the times you need a bit more than maintenance.  I would suggest something in the victron ip65 blue connect range or one of the optimate 6.
 

Family_Dog

AVForums Grandmaster
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Joined
May 17, 2006
Messages
11,933
Reaction score
967
Location
North West
We carry the Benton range, if you're interested. The charger you're looking at is way too small for a large battery.

If you only want a maintenance charger with an occasional full charge, the BX-1(M) would be suitable, 5-step, 800mA to 3.8A max. You can safely leave this charger permanently connected to the battery, also suitable for LiFePO4 batteries.




-F_D

 

Gerlach

AVForums Grandmaster
Joined
Oct 11, 2016
Messages
2,649
Reaction score
385
Location
Cape Town
Victron got some super nice chargers but get ready to sell one of your audio equipment  :giggle: The one that family_Dog looks super nice and then you can check this one out at Midas:

PSA008.jpg


I'm using one that to keep my 190ah AGM's top up because i'm not using them anymore, move over to Lifepo4's
Here some more info: https://www.4x4community.co.za/forum/showthread.php/189721-Chargers-Is-more-expensive-always-Better/page2

You get them in 6Amp and 8Amp.
 

MusicMan_ZA

AVForums Grandmaster
Joined
Jul 14, 2013
Messages
2,695
Reaction score
441
Location
Cape Town
Thanks for the answers above, everyone - it was very helpful.

Cheers,
Johan
 

MusicMan_ZA

AVForums Grandmaster
Joined
Jul 14, 2013
Messages
2,695
Reaction score
441
Location
Cape Town
I haven't bought the new charger yet, and it might be a very good thing!
But just to make sure:

I do have a car battery charger, with 6v/12 and Trickle Charge/Full Charge functions.
I used this to bring my Willard 105Ah DC Battery up to 13.8v.
I also made new cables with the correct plugs for my 12v Fibre Box (Raycore from Vumatel) and 12v wireless router (D-Link).
When the power went off today at 12pm, I was ready!
I switched over to the battery, and for 21 minutes I had internet. Both devices worked fine - green lights on on the D-Link,
and Blue and orange lights on on the Raycore. Internet speed tested at 6Mbps (not 10).
Then the internet died.
Green lights still on on the D-Link, and only the blue light on the Raycore.
This makes me think that the Vumatel fibre is also affected by the load shedding in my area, and is not available for
most of the load shedding period?
It would also explain why, when the power comes back on in my house, it can take 10-10 minutes before my internet access is restored?

Is this correct, or am I missing something?

I don't want the backup power for lights or for TV, so if my internet is still not going to work, there would be no point in my
setting this up.

PS. My Vodacom phone also goes into "no service" for most of the load shedding period (sometimes I get E, but nothing loads or works, anyway), and I have a big-ass tower on top of the hill, just behind me!  :headbanger:

Any thoughts on this?
 

HBAutomation

AVForums Super Veteran
Joined
May 2, 2015
Messages
1,831
Reaction score
150
Location
Ramsgate KZN
We had a similar problem. During load shedding the INet was MIA, on our phones. Turns out they are having problems with affirmative shoppers liberating backup batteries.
We logged a fault/complaint and it has been sorted.
 

MusicMan_ZA

AVForums Grandmaster
Joined
Jul 14, 2013
Messages
2,695
Reaction score
441
Location
Cape Town
I forgot to end this: I ended up buying a Bosch C7 charger.
Everything else was sold out in my area.
In any event, very happy with it, and glad I just got what I wanted in the first place.

Mods, please lock.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top