How Should Audiophiles Think About Hearing Loss as They Age?

AVForums

Help Support AVForums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chrisc

AVForums Grandmaster
AV Forums Supporter
Reaction score
How Should Audiophiles Think About Hearing Loss as They Age? By Eric Forst

The human ear is quite an amazing piece of audio gear. It’s an intricate yet vast system of tiny, superbly-tuned components working in sync to convert mechanical energy into what we interpret as sound. Most people, audiophiles included, will go their entire lives with limited understanding of the very mechanism that allows us to enjoy auditory information and experience musical bliss in its highest form. As a licensed Speech-Language Pathologist by trade for over 13 years, not only have I extensively studied the science of hearing and sound (I have a masters in Communication Sciences and Disorders), but I have witnessed the negative impact of hearing loss on a daily basis in my work with adult patients.

How to prevent audiophile hearing loss from a professional's perspective

What Causes Hearing Loss?

I have had many conversations over the years with patients who considered themselves audiophiles or just audio enthusiasts, but have sadly retired from the hobby due the progression of their hearing loss and music “just not sounding the same,” as a former patient of mine described it. Despite the presence of hearing aids, he sadly just could not achieve the same level of musical detail as when his hearing was within normal range, and decided to call it quits with the hobby completely. I distinctly remember this man, a retired radio engineer in his early 80s, kindly offering me his vintage, three-way JBL loudspeakers free of charge. I was legally and morally obligated to politely refuse, and encouraged him to find a teenager in the neighborhood who might take them off his hands.