Author Topic: Power Amp Setup ...  (Read 2175 times)

Offline Fabian

• Trade Count: (+2)
  • AVForums Member
Power Amp Setup ...
« on: August 27, 2015, 11:12:14 AM »
Hi All,

I am relatively new to the audio game and I have a question.
Some may interpret it as a silly question but I really need an expert opinion.

I have an AV Receiver and I recently acquired a power amp.
I then endeavoured to set my "new" system up - first time connecting a power amp might I add.
Pre-outs on AV Receiver for front left and right channels connected to power amp left and right input. Front L and R speakers connected to the power amp.

So I connected the rear speakers directly to the AV Receiver (rear L and R speaker outputs) for my home theatre setup.
I figured that I can use the AV Receiver's stereo mode for music and all channels for movies.

Music sounded superb but when I watched movies the rear channels sounded dull whilst the fronts sounded superb.

I then disconnected rear speakers from Rear L and R on AV Receiver and connected them to Front L and R.
Sound is superb for all channel music and movies ... but is this the right thing to do considering that those channels are supposed to be dedicated to the power amp ???

Advice much appreciated.

Thanks

Offline Zealot

• Trade Count: (+9)
  • AVForums Veteran
Re: Power Amp Setup ...
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2015, 01:52:02 PM »
Hi Fabian

What you were hearing is the same soundtrack through the 4 speakers - In not connecting the surrounds to the surround outputs on your receiver, you will not hear the effects intended for those channels.

The surround speakers are for effects only - Even your left & right front speakers should be tamed vs the centre speaker doing most duties in surround mode (when watching movies).

Listening to music is another story in surround mode.

To answer your question re being able to make use of the receiver's front L&R channels, by all means you can - This will not put any strain on your receiver.