Home Cinema build - Dedicated room (50% complete)

AVForums

Help Support AVForums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mauritz

Home theatre enthusiast
Reaction score
I will use this platform to document my home theatre build and post my progress, I have no professional experience and everything will be self-taught and there is no timeline (money will dictate that). And of course, a build like this is never truly complete, there will always be an upgrade to make.

Background:
My father had a Sony 5.1 system when I was in high school, I was obsessed with sound and home theatres from then on. I eventually inherited the system and upgraded from there.

I replaced the aging Sony system with a Bentley Accoustic 5.1.4 Atmos system but it was not a dedicated room, I then moved to my current home and I am lucky enough to have free range in a dedicated room.

The Room:

The room was the old kitchen from many years ago so it measures 5m x 3.6m. It is a good size for what I need. The window is closed off and acoustically treated to not bleed out sound, it does unfortunately have 2 entrances but it is what it is and I can live with closing both doors. The roof is high enough that I was able to build a riser for the back row of seats, 30 cm high (more on the risers later).

Room design:

The room design has been drawn up by Steve from Home Theatre Gurus. I highly recommend him for designing a dedicated space.

Cinema design layout.png

Equipment:

Speakers

I really wanted the same speakers for the front stage, I already had two of the BIG FS150 speakers, It took vaughn from Bentley Acoustics some convincing but he allowed me to buy a single FS150 in exchange for my FC150, to complete my symmetrical setup of the FCM.

20220524_215701 (1).jpg

For the surrounds I will stick to the Bently FR50, they work well, but the room is not big enough to need bigger surrounds.