A restore leading to an eventual crack at DCR speaker build

AVForums

Help Support AVForums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kolakidd

AVForums Veteran
AV Forums Supporter
Reaction score
Let me start off by saying I am a novice, I want to build my own set of speakers one day, but before I do that I want to learn, so this was all part of that process.

This basically began by accident, I was helping a friend sort out (strip and clean, and clean, and check, and re-check components) an inheritance of some very nice audio gear from his recluse audiophile uncle who sadly passed away. Aside from a set of Martin Logan Sequel 2's powered by Steinhart (DVP-2XR pre and AM TVP777 van den hul mono's) there was a set of his bedroom speakers in the corner. The bedroom speakers were clearly DIY jobs, not well made, but knowing his uncle I guessed there would be value in them. My friend gave them to me, he didn't have space and said they were the bad speakers anyway.

These are the ML's and yes, that's his extra Tannoys serving his cottage.

I began the process of restoring them and pretty soon discovered the bass drivers had some serious foam rot
going down. When I opened the speakers up, low and behold SEAS. T25 (h456) tweeter and 21f-we woofer. The next part was an even stranger discovery, the crossovers were actually Steinhart crossovers, designed for DCR speakers. To this day I cannot find anything about Steinhart designing crossovers, so if you are reading this and know anything, a history lesson might be nice.