Author Topic: Newbie:  (Read 815 times)

Offline Audiomaniac

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • AVForums Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Tapatalk User
Newbie:
« on: September 16, 2015, 08:40:59 AM »
Hi all you AVforumites.

Can any of you let know if it`s possible to connect an active sub to a stereo amp & how it`s done, is it viable & worth the trouble if possible :thinking:

Any constructive advice & comments will be appreciated.

Thanks in advance :)


Offline Bravick

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 253
Re: Newbie:
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2015, 06:46:03 PM »
Hi,
Yes and no.
Depends on the sub and the amp.
Give us the makes and models and then we can assist
I almost had a psychic girlfriend, but she left me before we met

Offline Audiomaniac

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • AVForums Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Tapatalk User
Re: Newbie:
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2015, 08:57:36 PM »
Hi Bravick

Thanks for the reply sir.
Make & model of amp is Technics SU-610 stereo integrated amp & as for the sub I don't have one yet looking for something cost effective to experiment with.

Offline Bravick

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 253
Re: Newbie:
« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2015, 09:26:30 PM »
Hi,
The SU-610 does not have a pre output.
Some active subs does accept speaker level inputs though.
If you can find one, you can use the B speaker connector to drive it.
Another option is to reroute the tape output to the internal pre amp.
It has to be connected after the volume control and before the power amp section.
Any competent tech should be able to sort you out.
Just beware to get a powered sub with fairly high input impedance.
The pre amp section might not appreciate the extra load it has to drive.
I will check the service manual when I get a chance.
Regards
I almost had a psychic girlfriend, but she left me before we met

Offline Bravick

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 253
Re: Newbie:
« Reply #4 on: September 23, 2015, 12:53:11 PM »
Pm me your email address and I will send you the service manual.

The mods are fairly simple if you are handy with a soldering iron.

If not, find someone who is!

Regards
I almost had a psychic girlfriend, but she left me before we met

Offline Hi-Phibian

  • Commercial Member
  • Trade Count: (+33)
  • *****
  • Posts: 10,458
  • I really prefer email, see my banner for address..
    • Croak Audio Exploration
Re: Newbie:
« Reply #5 on: September 23, 2015, 12:59:45 PM »
Just use speaker level inputs on an appropriate subwoofer
Proprietor of Croak Audio Exploration.
Fair, not crazy, cash paid for turntables and tonearms from Rega, Linn and Thorens.          http://www.croak.co.za

Offline JJJ

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • AVForums Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
  • Drink the best wine!
Re: Newbie:
« Reply #6 on: October 11, 2015, 05:51:55 PM »
I would agree with above..Have connected my sub like that direct to Poweramp.No sub or rca out on my dac.
Laziness travel so slowly,that poverty will overtake you.