Simple speaker stands

AVForums

Help Support AVForums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mongoose

AVForums Super Veteran
Reaction score
So yesterday I decided to build some speaker stands for a pair of Magnat bookshelves.The idea was to use whatever I had around the house to minimize the cost factor. But before we go any further, I'm no woodworking pro so if you spot any blunders, kindly over look them :)

Ideas! Google has quit a bit of them, ranging from metal, to pvc and wood. I chose wood as I rather enjoy working with it and you can get it anywhere. My build is nothing fancy or new, I just like the thick post, heavy base type stand. Something like this. Green lines was to be for cable routing. Might leave out the cable routing option. Center piece to be filled with sand or kitty litter. The later is probably better as it's dry,(you dont want your hard work going all wonky because the sand you put in was damp. The sand or kitty litter will add some weight to the stand. Not sure if it improves the sound but it will surely make it more sturdy. Another item I still need to get or would like to get is a thin rubber sheet. Large enough to fit on the top of the stand and in between the speaker cabinet. Helps stop the cabs from shifting :) So here is my choice

Speaker%20stand_zpsvcufke1z.png

First problem, I had nothing to start with :vsad: But a trip down to the dumpster outside Chipbase in Tokai offered me quite a few very decent pieces for my build. In fact, exactly what I need, and it was free. Only cost involved here was R30 for the cutting.

1_zpsz6jhbnjt.jpg

Even though there is no splinters here, be careful with mdf cut at angles, it's FN sharp and can easily cut you soft baby like skin  ;)  That's no joke. It might not look so, but believe me it will.

2_zpsfvo4wy6q.jpg