My 14kw inverter / 10kw Solar array / 35kwh storage setup

Gerlach

AVForums Grandmaster
Joined
Oct 11, 2016
Messages
2,667
Reaction score
408
Location
Cape Town
Ok. I guess it’s time to start posting about my setup. All the work was done by my self.  We bought a bigger house and moved in begin of Aug 2021. I took my setup out my house that I sold because to replace the stuff will not be cheap. Plans was to start building the system in September but that plans quickly flew out the window because my with had other plans with the house and needed my hand with it. So I did some stuff between all the other stuff like painting the house and taking the garden out and replacing with a new garden design.

System consist 2 MLT inverters. One is H8.0 and the other one H10.0 It’s the older models of MLT but what I like about them are that they can work with MLT Bridge software so you can run them Online, and they are really robust units and I can send them in for repairs locally, MLT factory is around the corner of my work. And to add, I picked up this units for a good price.

94c9e2a88d48d0331973b8e7343d726ff0fef02e.jpeg


On the MPPTs I went for Victron stuff with all the stuff that go’s with them. Wanted something that I can get stats and do more stuff and a bit of a step-up from Microcare stuff. 250/100 and 150/100 mppts. 250/100 is for my North array and the 150/100 is for my East and West array.

08a02f382d34ba880b699acf754c3ea2962418fb.jpeg


2b0dc04a89b7b693c139abd77dcf5fb609971d5e.jpeg


a8d7a584e4c7d73a649d095f075c7e88bcc5869e.jpeg


77016043f3e19e2e0bebed4788c14c5edfccda3e.jpeg


673e114de288926fa6a90de5b386f9a8d3fe07fa.jpeg


3c2e19987d93f8e7e9c86c3212813c400dcfce88.jpeg


I kept the 600 x 600 enclosures that used for my 140AH lifepo’s on my previous setup and decided to get some more lifepo4 batteries. Bought a 1000 x 600 enclosure and moved the 140Ah to them and the 100ah sells went in the 600 x 600 enclosures. The 140ah is a 16s2p setup now that is 280ah combine and the 100ah sells is a 16s2p setup that gives 200ah per unit. Combine it will be about 36kwh (680ah) storage.

d95c9da430dca4714e8bfc09cf95ae393d5ea694.jpeg


8bc790d3b9b4425a0198245e1b4f4c9fdb289170_2_281x500.jpeg


64 100ah sells delivered

fbc25df00906f2dbc462cf73b9e80b015a9115bf.jpeg


Some photos busy building the lifepo4 battery packs.

b8dd66fd55140f3df86fe0467952fbb5d64ced22.jpeg


8b78af8eda81c76b1af14294af5aad6cf90537c4.jpeg


18 x 330w panels for my East and West array. 9 for East and 9 for West array. This if for the morning sun and afternoon tot late afternoon sun. They will be running on the 150/100 mppt. 9 x 430w panels for the North array on the 250/100 mppt. They way bigger then the 330w in size.

b49c8a3927f4dc96dd5377fd4d8d06082fb4c405.jpeg


With all the crimping I did in the past and lending a crimper from my one friend and all the crimping I needed to do, I went and bought a Hydraulic crimper, one of the best buys ever.

a51c6060480e4ac36b68ae9cc92761f773ebdb1d.jpeg


It crimps really nice crimps

a2927487c99f3ee186eada32b16de9719d8c7cdc.jpeg


16s2p 100ah sells. Every enclosure is holding 200ah of storage running an Smart Ant+ Bms.

be18e98c00dc4422d6a7fd4bc3ae04ac396aa567.jpeg


b2aab4a6f90a48487cc4328b60f4cb168724f390.jpeg


b573381c186060e398b517b286e593f640eb0802.jpeg


I went for a bigger DB because I split my DB in to two between the two inverters. The H8.0 runs the Garage and geyser and AC in the house. The H10.0 will run the rest of the house with other AC in the rooms. That’s why I got two Et112, one for every inverter that feeds the house so that I can get the reading via the VRM portal. Bottom part will be for extra stuff like for the home automation stuff and for the Shelly Pro4. Still need to add all the Shelly Em clamps in the DB.

26198f01ba42ca6dbdb71197e6032f278f617963.jpeg


119ddb6c0c73b77e07a170168ef2639edc3b8260.jpeg


daf94a399024e736c9cf053e0168787f0be56b2d.jpeg


1b2a6579a43553bc72eacea52fd16919f00a9b19.jpeg


d377b5f295b720f0f917deaa038d0d67b8b153ca.jpeg


c66eb37c444910864c5d5b0304403d4cd02ab3d6_2_690x388.jpeg


fbf2592ab007b5d93a05232d7892803d4e8beec6.jpeg


I had to make more roof tile brackets out of 5mm flat bar, 52 of them to add with my other 30 I got that I made for the other house. Had me busy for a few days all the cutting and welding. Forgot how bad a arc weld can tan your arms because i’m use to the my father MIG welder.

Before pic:

f7b968af6910880a362c65e8fec33e2968c9d05d.jpeg


After pic after all the welding and drilling and sending of galv.

0285d6136c7fcaea944c13ae01d53be2123c7aa5.jpeg


The other bracket design I had from my other house that I made my self.
[/img]https://energytalk.co.za/uploads/default/original/2X/f/fec1e3cacb733706c936df897367b537bd0cce08.jpeg[/img]

Till 2 weeks ago, I finished all my stuff, submitted my forms last year for SSEG at CoCT and new prepaid meter installed from the City side and did my COC and got the go ahead from them that I’m registered at the City and I can use my system.

We where away on holiday over December so didn’t had a lot of time in December to do stuff, we came back in January in that first week when it was so hot. So late in the afternoon I will get on the roof to open the roof tiles to mount the brackets and rails. All done on my own without help.

dcde4051743f15fea3f7a128a6ea44cb53a1e294.jpeg


08ef33c98f1b70e23cfd5ff0d0807aff1631b15a.jpeg


1e222b269242b48a4acd48ad87ae6b0ea1c1f8d0.jpeg


dade42c3718d1df5a6af0408a89c94425cfeca48.jpeg


East and West rails
1888ae31e199a3d1d093bb452aacae7a7fedcc0f.jpeg


North and East and West rails all mounted and ready
ac6c266df3b578f377475561033feda3c4097161.jpeg


East panels stacked on a Tuesday 9 x 330w
707e2d642dc31c7660ffe055bb6474baac8bacb1.jpeg


West panels stacked on the Wednesday 9 x 330w
0d0eaec0d25fbdf6b0c19f90bc649fe708d982a5.jpeg


b2c61e8a2196c97fdddf24873af183d302e82cf9.jpeg


Panels was later drop a bit lower on the rail because I wasn’t sure with the stacking with the first one on the north facing end will fit when all 9 panels are on the rail because it was a tight fit, but all fitted so I drop them a bit to the correct clamping position on the rails. Did this after I took the Photos.

The Thursday and Friday Cape Town was hit by a heat wave so I stayed of the roof that 2 days. On Saturday I started to stack the last 9 panels, the 430w ones.

9c05fb5f5f9bc5d2de16747616da86de39e0c380.jpeg


d3ec19aeae3beaeb6b1023c2df90765249329d87.jpeg


8a717e393f810cc69c04cd9374162f7b3bec0402.jpeg


In that time I ordered a big wall mount fan for the garage to mount it close to the equipment connected to a TH16 to switch on when the garage started to get warm.

https://energytalk.co.za/uploads/default/original/2X/7/76cd1deafbde85a225d086c8279a4b1c9add2290.jpeg

81ad120255edb1885fba668c4ed585dcd96dd1d9.jpeg


Here is the end product.

abad107a16333e39698fdeb6cd5ac333d87c71bc.jpeg


4512f46c62e58b7697ede8776a9da2016e37f506.jpeg


d0463a2a1e272361d909182ffce98e92c129ddc5.jpeg


4046085dbccf2fc37cfcc8ca2ba392f6337e8141.jpeg


I still need to check in the new 2.80 update to get the ET112 to read correctly. The one that shows Generator is the MLT H8.0 one and the AC Loads one is the combine on the H8.0 and H10.0 output.

All the data can be pulled via the Victron VRM portal and I can check all the inverters stuff via MLT portal.

a02f9cc23e697ab997e62d3d39f08afedf1502f7.png


c10e9e678b4da239a2ae9e4897ac7d366d67be1a.png


f012d29e79d4275374d0f16d33163254c04d586f.png


9ebbb7a773b9ac703951171f01c83062257d289a.png


d4b84c7545e9ebdaf3165ec07d72ac4d3ba4c285.png


5ffda81e85800fb08aef9750e33fd2fc5a0840b8_2_690x388.jpeg




 

XL1000

AVForums Grandmaster
Joined
Dec 29, 2012
Messages
2,070
Reaction score
201
Location
Roodekrans
I am now feeling completely overwhelmed. Amazing work and what a system!!!!!! Well done Sire.
Did you also move your home to pre-paid? Sorry if I missed that.
 

Gerlach

AVForums Grandmaster
Joined
Oct 11, 2016
Messages
2,667
Reaction score
408
Location
Cape Town
XL1000 said:
I am now feeling completely overwhelmed. Amazing work and what a system!!!!!! Well done Sire.
Did you also move your home to pre-paid? Sorry if I missed that.

[member=14393]XL1000[/member] Good question.  The house had a prepaid meter already but the CoCT will come and install a new meter setup , free of charge,  that is 2 way meter setup with a lock out controller that go's in the out side main connection box. They then adjust it if you want to export power or lock out if you don't want to export power.

Old Meter in this pic:
1b2a6579a43553bc72eacea52fd16919f00a9b19_2_690x388.jpeg


New meter:
90b3c676eb687ed1aac9fd28ab92a6b4f9f90807.jpeg


they basically just remove the face part of the old Conlog meter and the new one plugs in to the backing plate.
 

Family_Dog

AVForums Grandmaster
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Joined
May 17, 2006
Messages
11,951
Reaction score
975
Location
North West
Great job Gerlach, you put many of the professional installers to shame with your standard of work. Well done!


-F_D
 

Heinrich

AVForums Super Veteran
Joined
Jan 12, 2011
Messages
1,702
Reaction score
13
Location
Centurion ,Gouteng
This is beautiful.
I have yet to  see a "professional " installation with the same attention to detail.
very well done!!
 

Gerlach

AVForums Grandmaster
Joined
Oct 11, 2016
Messages
2,667
Reaction score
408
Location
Cape Town
Thanks for kind comments guys. Appreciate it. Funny thing is, when the sparky came do the COC inspection, he was dumbstruck and wanted to offer me a job to do solar installations for him.  ;D no thanks I told him, I got a 7 to 15:30 job and I got friends in the solar trade and it's no jokes the problems they sitting with.
 

WAP

AVForums Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2010
Messages
59
Reaction score
28
Gerlach said:
Thanks for kind comments guys. Appreciate it. Funny thing is, when the sparky came do the COC inspection, he was dumbstruck and wanted to offer me a job to do solar installations for him.  ;D no thanks I told him, I got a 7 to 15:30 job and I got friends in the solar trade and it's no jokes the problems they sitting with.

Where did you get the sleeving from you used on all the cables ?
 

Gerlach

AVForums Grandmaster
Joined
Oct 11, 2016
Messages
2,667
Reaction score
408
Location
Cape Town
WAP said:
Where did you get the sleeving from you used on all the cables ?

You can buy it at Three-D them or Mantech but i bought all Mantech stock last year December  :giggle:
 

Kenvanraas

AVForums Super Veteran
Joined
Aug 22, 2013
Messages
1,307
Reaction score
98
Location
cape town
Be the proudest dude and enjoy it wholeheartedly,well done Gerlach,few people will ever realise what you went through with that  :dop:
 

chrisc

AVForums Grandmaster
Joined
Dec 24, 2008
Messages
14,270
Reaction score
1,328
Location
Cape Town
An inspirational read, Gerlach, thank you.  Lot of tips may be gained from close reading of your progress and the pictures

Have you figured when the installation will pay for itself with the saving of municipal electricity and what City of CT will pay you for what you export?

I believe that the rate for exported electricity is about to be increased, at least in Cape Town
 

bees007

New member
Joined
Mar 18, 2014
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
Location
Durbanville, CPT
chrisc said:
I believe that the rate for exported electricity is about to be increased, at least in Cape Town

That?s good news, because currently it?s pretty low and doesn?t make sense running your equipment to the max for the rate they give you
 

Soundfox

AVForums Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2022
Messages
61
Reaction score
8
Location
South Africa
Very nice installation, your a master!

I am moving in September and going full solar and would love your opinion on my post on the ideal setup here:
 
Top