Hifiman Arya v2 vs Beyerdynamic DT1990

AVForums

Help Support AVForums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Solid_Tuna

AVForums Member
AV Forums Supporter
Reaction score
Hello audio freaks,

I thought I would share some of my not too technical thoughts on the Arya and DT1990.

Now I have been using the DT1990 (A - pads) for about 4 months and man, it has been an amazing time with these. They changed what I knew about headphones and really opened my eyes to what higher end audio can be. I found them to be very versatile and I could listen to most if not all genre's but for me it was primarily Metal, EDM and Classical.

Hearing Duo for Violin and Violincello, Op7: 1 Allegro serioso, non troppo was a revelation (https://tidal.com/browse/track/182092383). It's so intense and emotional, I really felt completely immersed, even on the edge tears (Dramatic I know but I feel music deeply). You can hear the bow on the strings, the air around the instruments and you get a high amount of detail and it truly enjoyable. The bite on the DT1990 can be quite intense if not tamed with EQ but for me its a slight -2db adjustment at 7300hz and 8100hz and its slightly more smooth, anything more and you're and you're murdering the tuning.
When listening to metal its quite brutal, but in a good way. There is good amounts of punch and melodic assault that makes you stop what you're doing, turn it up and just listen. A badly mixed album (which seems to be prevalent in the genre) will be obvious and be unbearable to listen to but when you have well mixed music its really a pleasure.