AVForums South Africa

Audio/Video Hardware => Computers & Networking => Topic started by: jaxx on May 30, 2011, 11:10:42 AM

Title: FreeNAS 7 and HP Microserver (1000baseTX issues ?)
Post by: jaxx on May 30, 2011, 11:10:42 AM
Hi,

Im just checking to see if anyone else running FreeNAS 7 on the HP microserver is experiencing problems connecting via gigabit Ethernet ?

My server seems to default to 100BaseTX full-duplex if I leave it on autoselect. When I try to force the interface to 1000BaseTX full duplex, I loose the ethernet connection.
Ive tried this both via the GUI, and using IFCONFIG.

My switch is a Dlink DGS-1005D ( which supports 1000BaseTX), and Ive tried different CAT5e cables. BTW, I have other devices on the same switch, which connects with gigabit.

Anyone having a similar experience ?

Title: Re: FreeNAS 7 and HP Microserver (1000baseTX issues ?)
Post by: fdlsys on May 30, 2011, 12:19:37 PM
Nope, mine connects at a gig just fine.
I have other problems - the eth0 connection drops once in a  blue moon, causing havoc with my various clients, etc. Eth0 goes Down, and luckily, goes back Up automatically.
No idea what's causing it...
Title: Re: FreeNAS 7 and HP Microserver (1000baseTX issues ?)
Post by: ara on May 30, 2011, 12:25:49 PM
No problem either with the same switch.
Title: Re: FreeNAS 7 and HP Microserver (1000baseTX issues ?)
Post by: jaxx on May 30, 2011, 01:07:07 PM
Thanks for the responses... at least I know that it 'should' work.
Title: Re: FreeNAS 7 and HP Microserver (1000baseTX issues ?)
Post by: jaxx on May 31, 2011, 08:58:24 AM
Update :
Tried a 3rd cable, and it connects fine on 1000baseTX.
Seems to have been the cables, though they are all CAT5e - need a new cable supplier :)
Title: Re: FreeNAS 7 and HP Microserver (1000baseTX issues ?)
Post by: spike_za on May 31, 2011, 03:31:51 PM
are you using prebuilt patch leads or a diy job
Title: Re: FreeNAS 7 and HP Microserver (1000baseTX issues ?)
Post by: jaxx on May 31, 2011, 04:46:02 PM
Hi,

These are those 'made while you wait' cables.
Im gonna stick to the pre-made type from now.
Title: Re: FreeNAS 7 and HP Microserver (1000baseTX issues ?)
Post by: spike_za on June 01, 2011, 09:55:28 AM
Yeah the problem is alot of those cables are made with solid cables instead of stranded
Title: Re: FreeNAS 7 and HP Microserver (1000baseTX issues ?)
Post by: Rotten Johnny on June 01, 2011, 10:03:23 AM
Roll your own, there's nothing to it.