blon bl03 chi fi iems

AVForums

Help Support AVForums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ron g

AVForums Grandmaster
Reaction score
so i recently borrowed a set of these to take a listen to.

i have seen a lot of really good reviews, & know a couple of people with them who are really very impressed, so was kind of keen to take a listen. not quite so keen to try & communicate my impressions (something i am not very good at - when i start using all the old clich?s i find myself really irritating...)

most reviews say that an aftermarket cable & tips are required. these came with an aftermarket cable, having a 4.4mm pentaconn connector, & i sifted through my surprisingly large collection of tips to find a pair that work for me.

like all iems the tips are super critical, & it is simply amazing how much difference in sound they make. i settled on a set of silicone tips - no idea where they actually originated from.

source for listening was a lotoow paw gold touch. around $3000 of dap for $27 of iems.  :2thumbs: :2thumbs: (but they do have an aftermarket cable so it should be fair.)

the packaging with it's chi fi english warmed me to them straight away. i may well buy a pair just for the packaging:

73b9c4_e16ae2eb15504385819af4de8ee0a430~mv2.webp

i popped them in & took a listen to a couple of tracks. i don't really listen to new equipment on reference tracks, more tracks that i am familiar with:

eilen jewell - boundary county, loreena mckennit - the mummer's dance; lucy kaplansky - the swimming song; emmylou harris - boulder to birmingham; vienna teng - city hall & homecoming, & a few others.

i honestly did not expect what i heard.

full sound, bass a little overstated for my taste, but not overly flabby, & retaining a decent amount of crispness & control. mids a little recessed for my taste, but not overly so, & treble a little thin & low on definition for my taste.