Author Topic: Setting up a NAS using Ubuntu Server  (Read 20190 times)

Offline ara

• Trade Count: (+2)
  • AVForums Veteran
Re: Setting up a NAS using Ubuntu Server
« Reply #15 on: April 01, 2011, 05:25:43 PM »
Natively? I didn't know that...

At what point did I give you the impression I'm an expert? :D I don't even know what rSync is :D :D :D I must admit, as I understand Linux better I find there's more things I tend to do in the CLI than using a pretty GUI. Besides, real men type, they don't click.

It's not "entirely" natively but it perform very well. rSync is a differential sync service that will say look evey 15 minutes to see what computer location is available and backup the information to a place you designate. It is very quick as it does a true differential backup. Well I read your link and it was done very well. Just like you would expect from an expert. Nice and easy to follow.

Offline ara

• AVForums Veteran
« Reply #16 on: April 01, 2011, 06:11:52 PM »
FreeNAS performance

77032055 B/s = 75,226 KB/s = 73.47MB/s

Offline GearSlave

• Peacekeeper Extraordinaire
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • Ohm's Law has no business in Audio
    • Studio B
« Reply #17 on: April 01, 2011, 06:32:14 PM »
Well I read your link and it was done very well. Just like you would expect from an expert. Nice and easy to follow.

I'll take that as a compliment then :)

FreeNAS performance

77032055 B/s = 75,226 KB/s = 73.47MB/s

That's pretty good actually. I never got past around 55MB/s using FreeNAS on a Realtek NIC. You using an Intel NIC? If so, which one?
Resistance is not futile; it is voltage divided by current (R=V/I)

Offline ara

• AVForums Veteran
« Reply #18 on: April 01, 2011, 07:06:34 PM »
I'll take that as a compliment then :)

That's pretty good actually. I never got past around 55MB/s using FreeNAS on a Realtek NIC. You using an Intel NIC? If so, which one?