Author Topic: Capacitor X2 vs Y2  (Read 1278 times)

Offline Crafty

Capacitor X2 vs Y2
« on: September 07, 2019, 10:27:34 PM »
So the phase cap on my lp went up in smoke. Now the table plays in reverse and I can listen to all the satanic messages on my acdc vinyls, and follow the potjie kos recipes on my randall wicomb vinyl.
So the requirement is a 0.22 uf 400v Class X2 cap.
Can someone explain the difference between X2 and Y2?
I have a few Y2 versions at 500v.
Now X2 runs between your power lines, and Y2 runs to ground.
Is there any ways I can use the Y2 to manage the motor phase?
Location: Centurion (Gauteng)

Offline Crafty

Re: Capacitor X2 vs Y2
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2019, 10:51:17 PM »
This is my main issue. on RS electronics, I need to buy 100. a bit over kill...
https://za.rs-online.com/web/c/passive-components/capacitors/polyester-film-capacitors/?applied-dimensions=4294464384,4293323749,4293323768

I doubt we have 100 rega planer turn tables on the forum with the same issue.
Location: Centurion (Gauteng)

Offline fredeb

Re: Capacitor X2 vs Y2
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2019, 01:32:49 AM »
Order from Mantech .
« Last Edit: September 08, 2019, 01:35:04 AM by fredeb »
...evolution is the gradual development and stratification of progressive series of wholes, stretching from the inorganic beginnings to the highest level of spiritual creation.
Jan Smuts

Offline bushtech37

Re: Capacitor X2 vs Y2
« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2019, 08:28:15 AM »
If the cap really went up in smoke you need to check why the cap went

Offline fredeb

Re: Capacitor X2 vs Y2
« Reply #4 on: September 08, 2019, 09:57:33 AM »
So the phase cap on my lp went up in smoke. Now the table plays in reverse and I can listen to all the satanic messages on my acdc vinyls, and follow the potjie kos recipes on my randall wicomb vinyl.
So the requirement is a 0.22 uf 400v Class X2 cap.
Can someone explain the difference between X2 and Y2?
I have a few Y2 versions at 500v.
Now X2 runs between your power lines, and Y2 runs to ground.
Is there any ways I can use the Y2 to manage the motor phase?

https://www.mantech.co.za/ProductInfo.aspx?Item=13M1039

https://www.mantech.co.za/ProductInfo.aspx?Item=65M4419-H Use this one

https://www.mantech.co.za/ProductInfo.aspx?Item=14MA359

https://www.allaboutcircuits.com/technical-articles/safety-capacitor-class-x-and-class-y-capacitors/

« Last Edit: September 08, 2019, 10:08:59 AM by fredeb »
...evolution is the gradual development and stratification of progressive series of wholes, stretching from the inorganic beginnings to the highest level of spiritual creation.
Jan Smuts

Offline Hi-Phibian

  • Commercial Member
  • Trade Count: (+48)
  • *****
  • Posts: 12,540
  • Total likes: 238
  • I really prefer email, see my banner for address..
    • Croak Audio Exploration
Re: Capacitor X2 vs Y2
« Reply #5 on: September 08, 2019, 10:57:41 AM »
If the cap really went up in smoke you need to check why the cap went


Probably no smoke.  They do just sometimes fail with time. 


.
Proprietor of Croak Audio Exploration.
Fair, not crazy, cash paid for turntables and tonearms from Rega, Linn and Thorens.          http://www.croak.co.za

Offline bushtech37

Re: Capacitor X2 vs Y2
« Reply #6 on: September 08, 2019, 02:57:30 PM »
According to here: https://www.allaboutcircuits.com/technical-articles/safety-capacitor-class-x-and-class-y-capacitors/

a Y capacitor can be used in place of X cap but not the other way round

Offline Crafty

Re: Capacitor X2 vs Y2
« Reply #7 on: September 08, 2019, 03:01:34 PM »

Probably no smoke.  They do just sometimes fail with time. 
.


This. Yes, it was just a manner of speaking. So do you think I can use the Y cap in place of the x cap?
Location: Centurion (Gauteng)

Offline Crafty

Re: Capacitor X2 vs Y2
« Reply #8 on: September 08, 2019, 05:20:48 PM »
Installed the Y2 cap and it works like a charm. Should have replaced the resistor as well, but did not have any in stock. Measured it at 10.002 ohm. Seems okey for now. spec is for anything between 10 and 12 ohm 1 watt. Someone has been here before me. That resistor is a 3 watt inside. or a REALLY oversized 1watt.
 
Wow... should have done this day 1. Table used to take about 15 seconds to get to speed. I used to help it along with a quick push.
With the new cap it reaches speed in about 3 seconds  :thumbs: :thumbs:
Location: Centurion (Gauteng)

Offline Hi-Phibian

  • Commercial Member
  • Trade Count: (+48)
  • *****
  • Posts: 12,540
  • Total likes: 238
  • I really prefer email, see my banner for address..
    • Croak Audio Exploration
Capacitor X2 vs Y2
« Reply #9 on: September 08, 2019, 06:02:23 PM »
12 kilo ohm / 12 000 ohms.  3 watt. 
At 10 ohms the motor would be getting a beating. 

But you can also use another 0.22 mfd cap instead of the resistor.  Some rega service docs actually recommend the cap rather than the resistor. 


.
« Last Edit: September 08, 2019, 06:04:26 PM by Hi-Phibian »
Proprietor of Croak Audio Exploration.
Fair, not crazy, cash paid for turntables and tonearms from Rega, Linn and Thorens.          http://www.croak.co.za

Offline Crafty

Re: Capacitor X2 vs Y2
« Reply #10 on: September 08, 2019, 09:11:08 PM »
12 kilo ohm / 12 000 ohms.  3 watt. 
At 10 ohms the motor would be getting a beating. 

But you can also use another 0.22 mfd cap instead of the resistor.  Some rega service docs actually recommend the cap rather than the resistor. 

Thanks. Will try and get my hands on one tomorrow.
I think the bigger concern right now is to get the speakers set up correctly in the new room. Months of fun ahead.

Do you think the fast start up time is a product of the resistor that is too low?
Location: Centurion (Gauteng)

Offline fredeb

Re: Capacitor X2 vs Y2
« Reply #11 on: September 08, 2019, 09:13:51 PM »
The resistor drops the voltage , so voltage is too high . Could also influence  faster start .

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

...evolution is the gradual development and stratification of progressive series of wholes, stretching from the inorganic beginnings to the highest level of spiritual creation.
Jan Smuts

Offline Hi-Phibian

  • Commercial Member
  • Trade Count: (+48)
  • *****
  • Posts: 12,540
  • Total likes: 238
  • I really prefer email, see my banner for address..
    • Croak Audio Exploration
Capacitor X2 vs Y2
« Reply #12 on: September 09, 2019, 06:59:49 AM »
Thanks. Will try and get my hands on one tomorrow.
I think the bigger concern right now is to get the speakers set up correctly in the new room. Months of fun ahead.

Do you think the fast start up time is a product of the resistor that is too low?

With more voltage on the motor there is more torque and it could  be faster starting though a good belt and well working rega takes  3 or maybe 4 seconds to start up.  So I wouldn’t say it’s overly  fast at all.  If indeed you measured/identified  that resistor right you are risking the well being of your motor.  I wouldn’t use it like that.
Proprietor of Croak Audio Exploration.
Fair, not crazy, cash paid for turntables and tonearms from Rega, Linn and Thorens.          http://www.croak.co.za

Offline Nchebe

Re: Capacitor X2 vs Y2
« Reply #13 on: September 11, 2019, 11:25:07 AM »
But you can also use another 0.22 mfd cap instead of the resistor.  Some rega service docs actually recommend the cap rather than the resistor. 

Howdy Hi-Phibian...

I then assume a similar mod would do justice to my TD-150, which has principally the same resistor/capacitor divider setup (5k6, 0.33uF)?

It also suffers from slow startup...

Offline Hi-Phibian

  • Commercial Member
  • Trade Count: (+48)
  • *****
  • Posts: 12,540
  • Total likes: 238
  • I really prefer email, see my banner for address..
    • Croak Audio Exploration
Re: Capacitor X2 vs Y2
« Reply #14 on: September 11, 2019, 12:20:03 PM »
Hi. 

Perhaps but I wouldn’t know how to do the calculation for the correct capacitor value. 
Proprietor of Croak Audio Exploration.
Fair, not crazy, cash paid for turntables and tonearms from Rega, Linn and Thorens.          http://www.croak.co.za