Author Topic: Owners of the DT770's, are you happy with your purchase?  (Read 405 times)

Offline Fishbone123

Owners of the DT770's, are you happy with your purchase?
« on: January 13, 2019, 06:26:19 PM »
I  am looking for a mid range set of cans that are fun to listen to and they must be super comfortable.

I bought my first pair of entry level headphones about 6 months ago (the M40x), and even though they are great reference headphones, I want more meat in the lower range. Another issue is the comfort on the m40x was unbearable for me , even after I replaced them with generic HM5 pads.

Are the DT770's a good buy or is it diminishing returns at this point? I have also thought of selling my m40x's and going for something more expensive , like the open back massdrop HD58x.

I know these cans might not be that expensive for you but I am still a student so I have to budget effectively 

Offline Wietsche

Re: Owners of the DT770's, are you happy with your purchase?
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2019, 09:13:53 PM »
Hi,

I am a big fan of the DT770 Pro. I have the 80 ohm version. I do however think that the DT770 is not a big enough upgrade from the M40x. I spent time with both at some stage.

If you are willing to go for an open back and don't need the isolation from a closed ear cups, then the HD6xx and other varieties from Massdrop are by far better sounding. Open back headphones have always sounded better to me than closed back at the same price point.

Closed backs do usually have "more" bass, or more sound preasure, but its not necessarily better or of higher quality. A well amplified open back can have excellent and textured bass that you can get addicted to.

I have the HD6xx, and I prefer them to the  DT770 if my environment allows for it. The DT770 gets the most attention though because I use them at work where isolation is priority. I have recently upgraded to a DT1770, but the DT770 is still my "workhorse".

Hope this helps.

Cheers,
W