Author Topic: Mac based dsp  (Read 307 times)

Offline nubble

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • AVForums Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
Mac based dsp
« on: May 25, 2018, 02:51:32 PM »
Has anyone managed to get a Mac software based dsp running as software inside Mac OS ?
I would like to do this on all other programs that use audio in the Mac so dsp is applied everywhere.
Thanks

Offline mygoggie

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • AVForums Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
Re: Mac based dsp
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2018, 02:56:18 PM »
Opensource or paid for?
Herman

~ To heal the soul is to embark on a new journey. ~

Offline nubble

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • AVForums Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
Re: Mac based dsp
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2018, 04:12:44 PM »
Either would suffice I guess.

Offline Doge

  • Trade Count: (+13)
  • AVForums Grandmaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,238
  • Recovering Audiophile
Re: Mac based dsp
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2018, 04:24:25 PM »
I've used Soundflower and Hosting AU as a free solution for various plug-ins, if your DSP isn't audio unit based you'll have to use another DAW


Online Michon

  • Trader
  • Trade Count: (+45)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,127
Re: Mac based dsp
« Reply #4 on: May 25, 2018, 05:33:14 PM »
I've used Soundflower and Hosting AU as a free solution for various plug-ins, if your DSP isn't audio unit based you'll have to use another DAW



I recall trying Soundflower a year or two ago. I couldn't get it to work at the time. Maybe I should try again.

Offline nubble

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • AVForums Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
Re: Mac based dsp
« Reply #5 on: May 28, 2018, 09:23:07 AM »
I also came across soundflower but see its been succeeded by a paid app. I installed and setup jack for mac os. Its my understanding that these are the same function?

If I use soundflower/jack for audio routing, then Im still missing a dsp function if Im not using DAW software?
for example, if I use Itunes as a music source, how can I get dsp applied through this?

thanks

 

Offline Doge

  • Trade Count: (+13)
  • AVForums Grandmaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,238
  • Recovering Audiophile
Re: Mac based dsp
« Reply #6 on: May 29, 2018, 07:54:32 AM »
It's been replaced, but still available: https://github.com/mattingalls/Soundflower/releases/

It will create audio output called Soundflower (2ch), which you will select for output, then you have to route. BTW, I tried to use Jack, didn't seem to actually provide this function.

Here's a picture of AU Hosting taking the output from Soundflower; applying an N-band EQ and sending it to the standard output



Offline nubble

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • AVForums Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
Re: Mac based dsp
« Reply #7 on: May 29, 2018, 08:34:16 AM »
@Doge Thank you.
I will give this a try. I assume then that the N band EQ is a audio unit plugin or vst plugin?

What kind of latency introduced are we talking about here? I use Ableton Live sometimes for music production, and need minimal delay on the output line.
I use a Focusrite Saffire 6 usb sound interface that has 4-10 ms latency.

Offline Doge

  • Trade Count: (+13)
  • AVForums Grandmaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,238
  • Recovering Audiophile
Re: Mac based dsp
« Reply #8 on: May 29, 2018, 10:26:48 AM »
It's an AU plugin, Apple default I believe. VST plugins will need a different DAW.

I honestly have no idea about latency as I generally only use it for output.