Author Topic: LF: 2 x 2GB DDR2 RAM  (Read 557 times)

Offline Adagio

  • Trade Count: (+14)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,360
  • "Keep your coins, I want Change"
LF: 2 x 2GB DDR2 RAM
« on: March 14, 2018, 10:49:34 AM »
Looking for this old RAM for upgrade reasons please.


Offline mahleu

  • Modem Forumator
  • Forum Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+17)
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,869
  • Call a spade a spade, not a banana.
Re: LF: 2 x 2GB DDR2 RAM
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2018, 07:49:06 PM »
Desktop or laptop?
Always up for coffee and investments - insurance - retirement.

Offline Adagio

  • Trade Count: (+14)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,360
  • "Keep your coins, I want Change"
Re: LF: 2 x 2GB DDR2 RAM
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2018, 05:30:48 AM »
Desktop or laptop?

Oops, desktop. :facepalm: (running Win 7 Pro)

This is an older DELL Optiplex Celeron Duo, with 2 DIMM slots available.

Currently there are 2 x 512MB chips installed (1GB) & would like to upgrade to 2 x 1GB DIMMS, or ideally 2 x 2GB's which is this particular motherboards maximum capacity.
« Last Edit: March 15, 2018, 05:32:52 AM by Adagio »

Offline Adagio

  • Trade Count: (+14)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,360
  • "Keep your coins, I want Change"
Re: LF: 2 x 2GB DDR2 RAM
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2018, 06:44:58 AM »
Breakthrough! Wanted to photograph the memory so opened up, & there are 2 x 1 GB chips present. (Had the PC 3 years and DIMM was never installed correctly!)

Here are the photo specs, in the hope that am able to max out this motherboard with 2 x 2GB DIMMS.






Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Adagio

  • Trade Count: (+14)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,360
  • "Keep your coins, I want Change"
Re: LF: 2 x 2GB DDR2 RAM
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2018, 08:04:57 PM »

Are 2GB DDR DIMMS like hens teeth? :nfi:

(Just upgraded from Celeron to P4 3.2 CPU - it's blitz. >> :flame: - thank you, PaganMcLoud!

Offline XL1000

  • Trade Count: (+75)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,377
Re: LF: 2 x 2GB DDR2 RAM
« Reply #5 on: April 23, 2018, 07:13:47 AM »
Facebook Marketplace - Several available.
Music is a moral law. It gives soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and charm and gaiety to life and to everything. Plato

Offline Juggy

  • Trade Count: (+36)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,247
  • Cape Town
Re: LF: 2 x 2GB DDR2 RAM
« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2018, 09:11:32 AM »
Are 2GB DDR DIMMS like hens teeth? :nfi:

(Just upgraded from Celeron to P4 3.2 CPU - it's blitz. >> :flame: - thank you, PaganMcLoud!

Can get you these from Frontosa at R345 ex vat each

Corsair VS2GB800D2 Valuselect , 2Gb ddr2-800 ( pc2-6400 ) , CL5 , 1.8v - 240pin

Offline chrisc

  • Trade Count: (+107)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 9,239
  • Cape Town Hi-Fi Club - listen with your ears
Re: LF: 2 x 2GB DDR2 RAM
« Reply #7 on: April 23, 2018, 12:38:56 PM »
Are there only 2 slots?

Offline Adagio

  • Trade Count: (+14)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,360
  • "Keep your coins, I want Change"
Re: LF: 2 x 2GB DDR2 RAM
« Reply #8 on: April 24, 2018, 08:41:36 AM »
Can get you these from Frontosa at R345 ex vat each

Corsair VS2GB800D2 Valuselect , 2Gb ddr2-800 ( pc2-6400 ) , CL5 , 1.8v - 240pin

Thank you Gents, & XL1000.

Yes, ChrisC this Dell motherboard only caters for 2 DIMM slots, and maxes out at 4GB capacity. (ie. 2 x 2GB)


Offline Dubya Jay Dee

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 336
Re: LF: 2 x 2GB DDR2 RAM
« Reply #9 on: April 24, 2018, 01:13:22 PM »
Thank you Gents, & XL1000.

Yes, ChrisC this Dell motherboard only caters for 2 DIMM slots, and maxes out at 4GB capacity. (ie. 2 x 2GB)

Or 1 x 4GB

Offline Adagio

  • Trade Count: (+14)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,360
  • "Keep your coins, I want Change"
Re: LF: 2 x 2GB DDR2 RAM
« Reply #10 on: April 25, 2018, 09:32:04 AM »

Or 1 x 4GB

Are you sure? - curious, please tell more.

Offline Frank007301

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 358
Re: LF: 2 x 2GB DDR2 RAM
« Reply #11 on: May 22, 2018, 11:55:24 AM »
Where are you based?
B&W CM9's, CMC2, 4x  686's|2x M&K M4T Atmos|Marantz SR6011|Oppo UDP 203|Rotel RB1080|2xSVS PB1000|Optoma HD26 projector|120" Grandview screen|Apple TV4|Roku 4

Offline Adagio

  • Trade Count: (+14)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,360
  • "Keep your coins, I want Change"
Re: LF: 2 x 2GB DDR2 RAM
« Reply #12 on: May 22, 2018, 01:37:48 PM »

Hi Frank, and thank you for replying.

Am in the CT area. (Table View/Stellenbosch to-and-fro)


Offline Dubya Jay Dee

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 336
Re: LF: 2 x 2GB DDR2 RAM
« Reply #13 on: May 22, 2018, 02:11:28 PM »
Are you sure? - curious, please tell more.

The maximum addressable memory space is 4GB - can be either 2 x 2GB or 1 x 4GB. (Under a 32 bit architecture/ OS.)

You don't need to have a memory module in both slots.
« Last Edit: May 22, 2018, 02:26:49 PM by Dubya Jay Dee »

Offline Frank007301

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 358
Re: LF: 2 x 2GB DDR2 RAM
« Reply #14 on: May 23, 2018, 02:17:27 PM »
Hi Frank, and thank you for replying.

Am in the CT area. (Table View/Stellenbosch to-and-fro)

Hi there

I thought i had some 2GB dimms around but i only have 1GB. I can give you a spare mobo that i have laying around here if you'd like. It has 4 ram slots and you are more than welcome to take 4x 1GB dims. The mobo has a CPU in but i cant remember what CPU. Dual core intel is all i can remember. You can have it. Wont charge a thing.
B&W CM9's, CMC2, 4x  686's|2x M&K M4T Atmos|Marantz SR6011|Oppo UDP 203|Rotel RB1080|2xSVS PB1000|Optoma HD26 projector|120" Grandview screen|Apple TV4|Roku 4