Compact sub with a column array build- advice welcome

AVForums

Help Support AVForums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

guyfeld

Reaction score
Apologies if some these questions have been asked/answered before elsewhere.

I'm a solo pro musician in Somerset West Cape Town area and in the past have owned a Bose L1m2 system which I liked very much, but need something about 10db louder(125db continuous vs Bose L1m2's 115db continuous) I am looking at building/having someone build a similiar design but more powerful passive system. My budget is around R10 000.
I have 2x Synq 1k0 digital amps at my disposal(300w@8ohms, 500w@4ohms, 1000w bridged @8ohms rms) so, 2x1000wrms.

My smaller gigging amp is a Yamaha emx 512 powered mixer(2x300wrms@4ohms) I also have a Behringer active x-over. For the low-power gigs I would like to be able to just use the Emx512 to power the system without a x-over, so I would also look at a High and lowpass passive filter in the sub and column.Hopefully the system won't need radical dsp correction, otherwise I won't be able to use it for small gigs with my EMX512 which only has a basic graphic.

The sub should hopefully not weigh more than 25-27kg and be carryable with one hand. Probably 2x10" or 1x12" Ideal dimensions would be around 35w x 55h x 50d. I would like it to give smooth even bass response  40/45hz- 200hz . Crossover point will probably be around 200hz. The target spl would be at least 125db continuous.