Author Topic: Calibrating a TV with an xRite i1 Display Pro ?  (Read 404 times)

Online adamr

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • AVForums Member
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Calibrating a TV with an xRite i1 Display Pro ?
« on: October 03, 2017, 01:27:15 PM »
I have an i1 display pro coloromiter that has been used to calibrate my pc monitor. Question ... Is it possible to use this coloromiter to calibrate my home TVs ... And how do I go about doing this ?

Offline KenMasters

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,567
Re: Calibrating a TV with an xRite i1 Display Pro ?
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2017, 08:38:00 PM »
Absolutely, all you need is a pattern source and calibration software.

First thing you need is a pattern disc, such as the free AVS HD: http://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-display-calibration/948496-avs-hd-709-blu-ray-mp4-calibration.html
It contains test patterns to help you figure out the correct basic settings as well as the colour patches you'll need for the actual calibration.

Then you'll need the actual calibration software. There's the free HCFR that'll work with the i1, though you might find the learning curve a bit steep: http://www.homecinema-fr.com/colorimetre-hcfr/hcfr-colormeter/

The easiest to use and also most powerful software is CalMAN, not free though: http://calman.spectracal.com/
That also gives you the option of syncing SpectraCal's free "MobileForge" app with CalMAN to send the necessary colour patches to your display that way - makes life much easier.
« Last Edit: October 03, 2017, 08:49:37 PM by KenMasters »

Online adamr

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • AVForums Member
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: Calibrating a TV with an xRite i1 Display Pro ?
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2017, 08:42:48 PM »
Thanks @kenmasters ... Appreciate the feedback. Will do some research on the links you have sent

Offline KenMasters

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,567
Re: Calibrating a TV with an xRite i1 Display Pro ?
« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2017, 09:02:57 PM »
I haven't used HCFR for many years, but if you do go for that option this will guide you though it (CalMAN comes with a step by step work flow): http://www.curtpalme.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10457

Offline Cowboy

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 496
    • Dallas Dahms Photography
Re: Calibrating a TV with an xRite i1 Display Pro ?
« Reply #4 on: October 27, 2017, 08:27:27 PM »
How would the TV store the colour profile? Unless you're using the TV as a monitor for a computer, whatever profile you create would need to be held somewhere and applied by whatever was feeding the signal through to the screen.

Offline KenMasters

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,567
Re: Calibrating a TV with an xRite i1 Display Pro ?
« Reply #5 on: October 28, 2017, 08:05:18 AM »
How would the TV store the colour profile? Unless you're using the TV as a monitor for a computer, whatever profile you create would need to be held somewhere and applied by whatever was feeding the signal through to the screen.

There are no colour profiles involved, that's only relevant to PC. You use the colorimeter to read colour patches on the TV to measure accuracy, then adjust the display using its White Balance and Colour Management System (CMS), the rest of the settings are adjust prior by eye using test patterns. Some TVs have better calibration options than others.