Author Topic: Banned on a UK IP, any mods willing to help?  (Read 610 times)

Offline Doge

  • Trade Count: (+13)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,183
  • Recovering Audiophile
Banned on a UK IP, any mods willing to help?
« on: June 05, 2017, 09:18:01 PM »
Either that or fix the system so I don't have to clear my cache? :nfi:

Offline Rotten Johnny

  • ROONed for life.
  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+31)
  • *****
  • Posts: 14,765
Re: Banned on a UK IP, any mods willing to help?
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2017, 09:34:03 PM »
But you're online?  To investigate we need the IP address that's being blocked.  Often clearing the cache is all that's required, other times you're "banned" because the IP range your ISP is using has previously been banned as a result of spammers or bots making use of the same IP range to do their thing.
Audiophile: There is almost no other group that prides themselves more on wasting good money on utterly worthless ****, and then trying to furiously blow smoke up their own ass to justify it.

Free your mind...and your ass will follow.

Offline Doge

  • Trade Count: (+13)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,183
  • Recovering Audiophile
Re: Banned on a UK IP, any mods willing to help?
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2017, 11:04:58 PM »
Yeah it's the latter case, I did send you a PM with the IP a few weeks back... sent one to BWS too, didn't get a response.

I wouldn't even mind staying "banned" on that IP since it's a work address, but it's just a pain having to clear the cache if I just want to have a peep on my phone during lunch or whatever and forget I'm still on that network and have to go and clear it before I can access it again.
« Last Edit: June 05, 2017, 11:09:27 PM by Doge »

Offline Rotten Johnny

  • ROONed for life.
  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+31)
  • *****
  • Posts: 14,765
Re: Banned on a UK IP, any mods willing to help?
« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2017, 06:41:46 AM »
Check it now, it should be sorted. It must've slipped my mind when you'd previously sent it. Where you based in the U.K.?
Audiophile: There is almost no other group that prides themselves more on wasting good money on utterly worthless ****, and then trying to furiously blow smoke up their own ass to justify it.

Free your mind...and your ass will follow.

Offline Toxxyc

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 560
Re: Banned on a UK IP, any mods willing to help?
« Reply #4 on: June 06, 2017, 07:37:36 AM »
You don't always have to clear cache (I hate it as it logs me out on everything).  On Chrome, tap F12 and at the top you'll see a tab called "Network".  Click on that and you'll see a checkbox called "Disable cache".  Enable that checkbox and refresh the page.  Chrome will ignore the cache and load a fresh page for you, overwriting the cache.  You can now close the F12-opened page and continue.

Offline Doge

  • Trade Count: (+13)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,183
  • Recovering Audiophile
Re: Banned on a UK IP, any mods willing to help?
« Reply #5 on: June 06, 2017, 02:13:20 PM »
Thanks RJ, based in Chiswick now, not too far from the rest of SA population here.

Offline Doge

  • Trade Count: (+13)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,183
  • Recovering Audiophile
Re: Banned on a UK IP, any mods willing to help?
« Reply #6 on: June 06, 2017, 02:14:18 PM »
You don't always have to clear cache (I hate it as it logs me out on everything).  On Chrome, tap F12 and at the top you'll see a tab called "Network".  Click on that and you'll see a checkbox called "Disable cache".  Enable that checkbox and refresh the page.  Chrome will ignore the cache and load a fresh page for you, overwriting the cache.  You can now close the F12-opened page and continue.

How do I tap F12 on a phone?  :goofy:

Offline Toxxyc

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 560
Re: Banned on a UK IP, any mods willing to help?
« Reply #7 on: June 06, 2017, 02:49:42 PM »
How do I tap F12 on a phone?  :goofy:

Oh no sorry you're screwed.  :BWAHAHAH:

Offline Katji

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 862
    • soundcloud
Re: Banned on a UK IP, any mods willing to help?
« Reply #8 on: June 06, 2017, 05:19:37 PM »
Is there any way to do it with firefox?