Author Topic: Nvidia shield  (Read 582 times)

Online Mirkywaters333

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • AVForums Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
Nvidia shield
« on: April 18, 2017, 08:28:17 PM »
Hi folks would just like to know if the guys on the forum that maybe have nvidia shields, if anyone is using it with kodi and a universal remote, been reading there are some issues with response times and setup as there is no IR reciever on the sheild 2017 16gb.  :nfi:

Online Mirkywaters333

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • AVForums Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
Re: Nvidia shield
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2017, 08:30:16 PM »
to be safe got a minix u9-h instead , much cheaper too.

Offline watz

  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • AVForums Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
Re: Nvidia shield
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2017, 10:38:04 PM »
Bricked mine today . Need to do a RMA.

Offline reactor_sa

  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,262
Re: Nvidia shield
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2017, 11:06:55 PM »
Bricked mine today . Need to do a RMA.
Purchased from?

Offline watz

  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • AVForums Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
Re: Nvidia shield
« Reply #4 on: April 27, 2017, 06:44:06 AM »
Followed some instructions on XDA forum last night , managed to reset it and bring it back up .
Kodi is installed works fine .
I m still having issues with the sync to my 4k screen .
Sound pass through is perfect .
I m using my joysticks as a remote .

I m thinking of bypassing the AVR and just connect the shield to the TV .

Online scrarfussi

  • Trade Count: (+20)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,733
  • Quantum In Me Fuit
Re: Nvidia shield
« Reply #5 on: April 27, 2017, 08:29:03 AM »


I m thinking of bypassing the AVR and just connect the shield to the TV .

if your  avr is non 4k then you gotta bypass
suum cuique pulchrum est


"I refuse to prove that I exist,'" says God, "for proof denies faith, and without faith I am nothing."

Offline watz

  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • AVForums Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
Re: Nvidia shield
« Reply #6 on: April 27, 2017, 11:38:26 AM »
if your  avr is non 4k then you gotta bypass

Bypassed the AVR , the shield has come up with the settings 4K 59.940Hz  YCbCr 4:2:2 12-bit Rec.2020.

Need to get the sound back into the AVR as now I am using the TV for Sound .
Will do that when I get man power as the TV weighs 32 kg .

KODI Playback is now smooth and no longer choppy , I have not yet put the usual plugins , so just using 4k HEVC 10bit downloaded content .

Offline watz

  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • AVForums Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
Re: Nvidia shield
« Reply #7 on: April 27, 2017, 09:55:03 PM »
Whilst trying to get ARC to work .
The tv picked up the shield via CEC , and I can control all functions of the shield using my tv remote .
Not just basic navigation. All functionality.

Offline Jademichael06

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • AVForums Member
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Nvidia shield
« Reply #8 on: May 15, 2017, 07:19:39 PM »
ARC works great for me, however I have issues with the remote having slow response on the Nvidia shield 2?

In Netflix for example, volume adjustment or chapter scrolling reacts after a few seconds. I am forced to use the TV remote.

Changed the batteries, no luck.