Author Topic: My Stuff  (Read 5758 times)

Online Michon

Re: My Stuff
« Reply #30 on: April 04, 2018, 07:16:57 PM »
Sorry if the above is stating the obvious  but  as a bit of a simpleton I have to describe things on my level.

Thank you for the information in that post Agaton. The "level" was just right. Nothing in the post was obvious to me, as I'm new to tape, and you described it well.

In the case of my Studer A67 I elected to use offboard  tape head amplifier vacuum tube electronics by Bottlehead.

Is it the Eros Tape Head Preamplifier Kit from Bottlehead that you are using with the Studer A67?
https://bottlehead.com/?product=eros-tape-head-preamplifier-kit

Sometimes a switch is used between these but my Tech abhors switches at such low levels( millivolts ,similar to a phono cartridge) and just installed a whole second set of replay electronics for the second replay head .

Did you use another set of Studer A80 Reproducer replay electronics for the 1/4 track playback head, or did you, as with the Studer A67, opt for replay electronics from an alternative manufacturer?
Plate, vakuum buis versterkers en breŽband oorvormers.

Offline Agaton Sax

« Reply #31 on: April 04, 2018, 09:29:29 PM »
Thank you for the information in that post Agaton. The "level" was just right. Nothing in the post was obvious to me, as I'm new to tape, and you described it well.

Is it the Eros Tape Head Preamplifier Kit from Bottlehead that you are using with the Studer A67?
https://bottlehead.com/?product=eros-tape-head-preamplifier-kit

Did you use another set of Studer A80 Reproducer replay electronics for the 1/4 track playback head, or did you, as with the Studer A67, opt for replay electronics from an alternative manufacturer?