Author Topic: Opensprinkler boards Round 2 Q & A  (Read 8078 times)

Offline xrapidx

  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,492
Opensprinkler boards Round 2 Q & A
« on: November 09, 2016, 08:24:24 AM »
Thought this could be a Q&A thread relating to the use and installation of these boards:


Ref:
Sale thread: http://www.avforums.co.za/index.php/topic,58271.0.html
&
Initial thread: http://www.avforums.co.za/index.php/topic,44460.0.html
&
Sale: http://tangtechnologies.spaza.co/

Offline Heinrich

  • Trade Count: (+7)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,572
  • silence is golden, but ductape is silver
Re: Opensprinkler boards Round 2 Q & A
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2016, 09:02:15 AM »
1st round of questions:

would i be able to add level limit switches and only have the system come on when the water level is enough without having to connect it to the rain sensor input?


is it possible to adjust the time each zone will be on measures against water level?

someone told me that i can make ice cubes with left over wine.
i am confused, what is left over wine?

Offline tangmonster

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,783
Re: Opensprinkler boards Round 2 Q & A
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2016, 09:07:06 AM »
Thanks , yes this makes sense

Hi All


The basics of powering show very good in the below picture:

NO 5v is needed for PI. IN fact i didn't put in protection so don't plug in usb power and AC power, something will blow up.

ONLY 24V AC.

The onboard circuit regulates the 24Vac to 5V dc to power the pi Directly from the Header.
The Pi then has in onboard 3.3V regulator.

This regulator is used to power other circuits like the DS1307 RTC etc.

You cannot power the board with DC, At least the pi should work but the TRIACS can only switch AC which 99% of all solenoids use. You do get DC latching solenoids but that is a very speciality item that needs a whole different circuit.


Offline tangmonster

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,783
Re: Opensprinkler boards Round 2 Q & A
« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2016, 09:45:53 AM »
1st round of questions:

would i be able to add level limit switches and only have the system come on when the water level is enough without having to connect it to the rain sensor input?

is it possible to adjust the time each zone will be on measures against water level?


At this stage I don't know of any way to do that on a zone specific way.

The Weatherunderground input that uses temp , humidity and wind etc to decide on watering percentage is the best they have.





Offline xrapidx

  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,492
Re: Opensprinkler boards Round 2 Q & A
« Reply #4 on: November 09, 2016, 09:55:54 AM »
Looks like I've already been saved from blowing things up...

My 4th Valve has started randomly tripping the power - so this has become a priority... you can see how the valves are wired behind the relay  :facepalm:


Some general questions from my side
1.) Where would I be able to get a 24v transformer? I don't want to take the one from the Hunter unit if it requires disassembling (I'd prefer to sell it). I currently have a "bare" power cable coming in from the house, so it should be easy enough to connect something to it.

2.) Where can I get the single cable with multiple strands for the valves? (not sure what the cable is called)

I need to try and make sure I have everything upfront - my garden dies in a day or two without water, once I start, I don't want to get stuck.








Offline tangmonster

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,783
Re: Opensprinkler boards Round 2 Q & A
« Reply #5 on: November 09, 2016, 10:35:06 AM »


I;'d like to make small updates to this picture for in case someone wants to run Lights or pool pump of channels. You MUST use A AC relay for this.

The latest firmware has provision so you can set up a button conencted to the RAIN input, if this button is pressed for 2 seconds , program 1 will run.
Good for in case you have a gardner you only want to give water from the tap 1 hour at a time or run only your master pump for a specific time or simple program.




Sources for parts ( there are MANY places but these are the parts i used):

24V ac transformer ( 20VA normally , 30VA advised for pi3):

ACDC R219 according to their website:
T-20VA 230/24
http://www.acdc.co.za/getPage.php?page=77

Yebo: R265
http://www.fort777.co.za/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=269_456_676_678_1150&products_id=3752


RS: R236 (short out two middel terminalks for 24Vac
http://za.rs-online.com/web/p/chassis-mounting-transformers/0504280/



For Cabling I used Cat 5 , cheap and easy. Running underground inside black pipe.




Offline tangmonster

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,783
Re: Opensprinkler boards Round 2 Q & A
« Reply #6 on: November 09, 2016, 10:41:35 AM »
another transformer option

communica:

http://www.communica.co.za/Catalog/Details/P0403570658

cheapest best option i could find so far:

R150

http://www.communica.co.za/Catalog/Details/P1220414792
« Last Edit: November 09, 2016, 10:43:50 AM by tangmonster »

Offline xrapidx

  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,492
Re: Opensprinkler boards Round 2 Q & A
« Reply #7 on: November 09, 2016, 10:42:41 AM »
didn't think of network cable...  :Ooooooh: I have 100m of CAT6 lying around.

Can you recommend a product for "joining" cables neatly? As you can see, who-ever did my current installation did crude cable joins, most without insultation.

I'd like to do this all as neat as possible.

If I understand everything correctly - it'll work as follows:
1.) 220v into 24v transformer into opensprinkler board.
2.) Opensprinkler board connected to pi.
3.) Valves connected to Opensprinkler board.

In my case.
4.) 220v into Relay
5.) Relay into pump
6.) Opensprinkler board into Relay (I'll figure/ask when I get this far)

*side note - I need to do a basic electric course (for dummies)
« Last Edit: November 09, 2016, 10:48:55 AM by xrapidx »

Offline johanhp

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
Re: Opensprinkler boards Round 2 Q & A
« Reply #8 on: November 09, 2016, 10:49:42 AM »
I bought the same transformer that Yebo sells for R170 at FG Electronics in Pretoria.

another transformer option

communica:

http://www.communica.co.za/Catalog/Details/P0403570658

cheapest best option i could find so far:

R150

http://www.communica.co.za/Catalog/Details/P1220414792

Offline xrapidx

  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,492
Re: Opensprinkler boards Round 2 Q & A
« Reply #9 on: November 09, 2016, 02:18:48 PM »
Another question from me :)

What is the board that everything is mounted on called in this picture?


I'd like to use something similiar.

Offline tangmonster

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,783
Re: Opensprinkler boards Round 2 Q & A
« Reply #10 on: November 09, 2016, 02:23:03 PM »
Another question from me :)

What is the board that everything is mounted on called in this picture?


I'd like to use something similiar.

People call it different things , but I call it a back plate.

If you current box is too small electromechanica in koeberg Weg has a CRAZY amount of options.

obviously ACDC also.

Here is electromechanica's catalogue

http://www.em.co.za/Ebook/index.html




Offline tangmonster

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,783
Re: Opensprinkler boards Round 2 Q & A
« Reply #11 on: November 09, 2016, 02:28:19 PM »

If I understand everything correctly - it'll work as follows:
1.) 220v into 24v transformer into opensprinkler board.
2.) Opensprinkler board connected to pi.
3.) Valves connected to Opensprinkler board.

In my case.
4.) 220v into Relay
5.) Relay into pump
6.) Opensprinkler board into Relay (I'll figure/ask when I get this far)

*side note - I need to do a basic electric course (for dummies)

You got it.

For my pump for example i use Channel 1 connected to the relay.

I set Channel 1 in the Options as my "MASTER" channel.

So for all other channels I will set if it needs master also running or not.

Like me you will too since you need to run channel 1 with all other channels.

Except where a channel is used for pool pump or light or whatever.

A channel can also be set up as Sequential or not.

All solenoid  irrigation channels will be set to default Sequential since you dont' want to open 2 at teh same time.

Other channels connected to other ligths etc will NOT be set to sequencial since they must be able to work at any time with any other channel.


Fyi

Once you have your condif done you can export your confog to an XML file on your local pc. this is VERY important so you don't have to redo things.
And sometimes I have found when i give the command to do the firmware update directly from the android app i lost my settings.
Luckily it is a quick load of the xml file and all is good again.




Offline xrapidx

  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,492
Re: Opensprinkler boards Round 2 Q & A
« Reply #12 on: November 09, 2016, 02:31:39 PM »
Thanks - I appreciate the feedback (and patience).

I'll probably only be running the sprinklers for now, I'll hopefully add outdoor lighting once I get round to install it.

It would be great to have the pool pump and light on the same system, but they're on the other side of the property, and not possible to run a cable (concrete pathways).

Offline tangmonster

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,783
Re: Opensprinkler boards Round 2 Q & A
« Reply #13 on: November 09, 2016, 03:12:01 PM »
Thanks - I appreciate the feedback (and patience).

I'll probably only be running the sprinklers for now, I'll hopefully add outdoor lighting once I get round to install it.

It would be great to have the pool pump and light on the same system, but they're on the other side of the property, and not possible to run a cable (concrete pathways).

on the top of the board there is a header with 12V supply designed so that you can connect a RF transmitter.
You can also assign a transmitter Code to a channel so that you can technically can have remote relays triggered from RF.

Electromechanica

http://www.em.co.za/Ebook/index.html

page 180

686.207  190 x 140 x 70  R115
is a nice box

654.0787 chassis plate is a steel plate so you'll have to drill holes is R56.


Offline xrapidx

  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,492
Re: Opensprinkler boards Round 2 Q & A
« Reply #14 on: November 09, 2016, 03:24:45 PM »
Awesome, going to make this my project for next week Friday, so I'll build up a shopping list of the necessaries.