Author Topic: Home Lan with Switch Issue  (Read 777 times)

Offline sudyP

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • AVForums Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
Home Lan with Switch Issue
« on: October 15, 2016, 10:39:19 AM »
Hi Everyone

Was hoping someone can help me with an issue I'm experiencing. I am unable to connect my PC to my home network but things like my TV and xbox connect fine. My setup is essentially like this:
PC, Xbox, TV <---> Unmanaged Switch <---> Managed Switch <---> Router

I'm stumped, as tried plugging another PC in as well and it doesn't work http://www.avforums.co.za/Smileys/default/sAng_banghead2.gif


Offline LocknLoad

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 217
  • Cover me in chocolate and throw me to the lesbians
Re: Home Lan with Switch Issue
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2016, 11:41:11 AM »
Are you saying the PC does not connect to either the unmanaged and managed switch or only the managed switch?

Things to check...
1 - No VLANs configured on the managed switch
2 - No static IP or DNS configured on the PC
3 - DHCP scope on the router is setup correctly

I assume you have tried your PC using the port and cable of the Xbox or TV?
Fan/Owner of KEF/Yamaha/Pioneer/Rotel/Paradigm/Emotiva/Dayton/TC Sounds/Minidsp/Acoustic Elegance

Offline scrarfussi

  • Trade Count: (+20)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,763
  • Quantum In Me Fuit
Re: Home Lan with Switch Issue
« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2016, 09:40:54 PM »
Is your pc set to. Dhcp
suum cuique pulchrum est


"I refuse to prove that I exist,'" says God, "for proof denies faith, and without faith I am nothing."

Offline ingenieus

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,063
Re: Home Lan with Switch Issue
« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2016, 09:44:56 PM »
Compare the network settings on the two PCs.

Offline sudyP

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • AVForums Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
Re: Home Lan with Switch Issue
« Reply #4 on: October 16, 2016, 11:14:18 AM »
Thanks for the help. Tried both DHCP and static protocols and another PC. Seems to be a problem with the MS networking protocol or something. Xbox not registering on the network too. Going to try PC with a Linux Live USB to confirm.

Offline Mervin

  • Trade Count: (+43)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,400
    • Security Audit and Control Solutions
Re: Home Lan with Switch Issue
« Reply #5 on: October 16, 2016, 11:42:56 AM »
Thanks for the help. Tried both DHCP and static protocols and another PC. Seems to be a problem with the MS networking protocol or something. Xbox not registering on the network too. Going to try PC with a Linux Live USB to confirm.
Cannot be this difficult.  You using DHCP?  What is the scope?  how many IPs, any filtering?  Class of network?  DHCP is UDP 67/68 and a broadcast, must work.  post some detail ipconfig /all output on pc
Behind the cupboard door... Narnia

Offline sudyP

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • AVForums Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
Re: Home Lan with Switch Issue
« Reply #6 on: October 16, 2016, 01:01:06 PM »
Thanks everyone, solved it. I had a loopback cable going from one port of the unmanaged switch to the other!!

Offline BWS

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • *****
  • Posts: 15,598
Re: Home Lan with Switch Issue
« Reply #7 on: October 17, 2016, 07:54:40 AM »
This belongs here :point:
Whoever originally coined the word 'Lisp' and put an 'S' in it's spelling, is a Douchebag !!

Offline Danny Boy

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,207
Re: Home Lan with Switch Issue
« Reply #8 on: October 17, 2016, 08:15:43 AM »
I'm just throwing this out there........... You have to many cables  :coffee:
HT: Onkyo TX-NR828 | Wharfedale Obsidian 600 | Polk PSW350 | HiSense 60K390 | Zalman HD503 HTPC & Kodi 17.3
Stereo: NAD 3020i | NAD 522 | NAD T515 | Pioneer PL-512 | Technics SB-2170 | RPi 3, PiFi v2 & Moode Audio

Offline sudyP

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • AVForums Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
Re: Home Lan with Switch Issue
« Reply #9 on: October 20, 2016, 07:14:36 PM »
That I do, that I do....

At least it got me a Legendary Thread on here :-)