Author Topic: Help with setting up a speaker switch with an amp and 2 pairs of speakers  (Read 871 times)

Offline TheFitJ

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • AVForums Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Afternoon all.

I really need some help and advice on setting up some speakers with a switch. I really don't want to blow up my amp or speakers by doing something dumb. I want to use a speaker switch so that I can use two pairs of speakers with my one amp.

I want to use them in my room and outside in my gym. I want to be able to turn off the music in my room and play it only in the gym and vice versa. I also would like to have both playing at the same time if possible.

A: My room only
B: Gym only
A + B: Gym and room at the same time.

Equipment

1. Proton integrated amplifier AM-452
Outputs RCA: 2
Inputs RCA: 5
Preout: yes
Speaker output: binding posts
EQ: Bass, Treble, Balance
Power: 25W/channel at 8Ohms
Weight: 5kg
Power consumption: 225W

2.   2x Wharfedale speakers CRS 3, 8 ohms, 100 watt

3.   2x Wharfedale speakers 30D.6 4-8 ohm, 100 watt

4.       4 speaker switch I couldn't find a two speaker switch in my area.















1. Connect speakers as per diagram into the switch.
2. Connect switch into amp.
3. Turn on amp and play music. If I need to listen to room A, I flip the first switch if I want room 2 I flip switch two. If I want both of them at the same time I have both on.

Can anyone tell me if this is safe to do with my equipment. I am not good at electronics so I am quite clueless. Is the switch I have found sufficient to do this? Is it safe? I personally don't need individual volume control in each area as I can just turn it up on the amp or the computer. I just need to be able to have all four speakers playing at the same time and also playing in isolation of each other.


PS. Sorry for the long post.

Offline Hi-Phibian

  • Commercial Member
  • Trade Count: (+34)
  • *****
  • Posts: 10,461
  • I really prefer email, see my banner for address..
    • Croak Audio Exploration
Re: Help with setting up a speaker switch with an amp and 2 pairs of speakers
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2015, 03:29:45 PM »
Does the switch you have confirm if it is wired so that when playing two speaker sets they are connected in series?
If yes you will be fine.
Proprietor of Croak Audio Exploration.
Fair, not crazy, cash paid for turntables and tonearms from Rega, Linn and Thorens.          http://www.croak.co.za

Offline TheFitJ

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • AVForums Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Help with setting up a speaker switch with an amp and 2 pairs of speakers
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2015, 03:34:25 PM »
Does the switch you have confirm if it is wired so that when playing two speaker sets they are connected in series?
If yes you will be fine.

Thanks for the reply. I'm not sure. If you look at the pictures, I have included the switch that I was going to buy. It has a diagram on the back of the packet.
I planned to wire the individuals speakers into their respective pair slots (negative and positive). Then I planned to take wire from the switch into the amp (negative and positive). That's as far as my electrical knowledge goes.

Offline Hi-Phibian

  • Commercial Member
  • Trade Count: (+34)
  • *****
  • Posts: 10,461
  • I really prefer email, see my banner for address..
    • Croak Audio Exploration
Re: Help with setting up a speaker switch with an amp and 2 pairs of speakers
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2015, 03:38:03 PM »
Hi

Can't read anything on the package of the switch box, pic is a bit fuzzy so can not say. 
Proprietor of Croak Audio Exploration.
Fair, not crazy, cash paid for turntables and tonearms from Rega, Linn and Thorens.          http://www.croak.co.za

Offline chrisc

  • Trade Count: (+73)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,353
  • “Without music, life would be a mistake.”
Re: Help with setting up a speaker switch with an amp and 2 pairs of speakers
« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2015, 03:38:30 PM »
Can you scan in or photograph (of sufficient detail) and send the connection diagram?  Failing that the make and model number


Edit:  If its something like this, it is ok

« Last Edit: September 25, 2015, 03:41:50 PM by chrisc »

Offline TheFitJ

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • AVForums Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Help with setting up a speaker switch with an amp and 2 pairs of speakers
« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2015, 03:40:32 PM »
I have re-sized and re-uploaded them. Is this a bit better now?





If not I will have to go back to the shop and get better pictures.

Offline chrisc

  • Trade Count: (+73)
  • AVForums Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,353
  • “Without music, life would be a mistake.”
Re: Help with setting up a speaker switch with an amp and 2 pairs of speakers
« Reply #6 on: September 25, 2015, 03:44:31 PM »
Yes, your unit is fine, it will not damage the amp with all 4 speakers switched on

Offline TheFitJ

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • AVForums Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Help with setting up a speaker switch with an amp and 2 pairs of speakers
« Reply #7 on: September 26, 2015, 02:05:51 PM »
Thanks for the advice guys. I went and bought a speaker switch, but the only one I could get has RCA outputs on the speaker switch instead of bare wire outs. I bought four RCA jacks and I have speaker wire so I can solder them. The only problem is I am unsure how to solder them.



From here you can see the outputs of my amp.



The way I understand this is all four RCAs correspond to the four outputs I have on my amp. If I solder each RCA with both negative and positive wires I will end up with 8 wires to plug into my amp. I am not sure this is correct. Must I solder one only one "negative" wire that will go to the specific "negative" outputs on the amp and the switch?