Open Chat > Food & Drink

Food/recipe challenge

(1/4) > >>

Shonver:
Sure, I have googled, but it's always nice to hear what your fellows think...

I have 2 red peppers, 2 medium-sized brinjals as the basis of a dish. Any ideas on what to do with these (I can buy more ingredients, as required)? I'd like to hear your ideas and/or recipes.

My first instinct is to make a brinjal (egg-plant/aubergine) -based stuffing (I don't know how), but there must be other options...?

2wice:
I'm a foodie of note and do all the cooking at home.

But you lost me at the brinjals, get some real food man.  :tongue:

bonzocabeza:
Love this .....
the brinjals , are well known in my country and other hispanoparlantes countries  by the name BERENJENAS.

I prefer then cooked together with any source of meat( pork, or beef or skaap).
I am not an expert on culinary matters but if you are interested try my recipe(actually my mothers).

1-first step is to peel the purple skin first, then cut the inner of the egg plant fruit in small cubes, size around 2cm on all sides. it can be slightly bigger though... toss the cubes in a water container with salt and leave them there for the time been....while you prepared your meat.

2-  choose a tender cut( like sirloin or rump, if you like pork select boneless neck cuts and make then in cubes too or stripes.) by the way chicken stripes will also do the trick.  With beef I prefer to leave the meat with  salt , lemon and pepper for at least 30 mtes or more before cooking.),

3 - preheated Olive oil in a pressurized cooker, then Adding 1 dice onion onto the frying oil.
     Add garlic only after the onions have change color. Cook the meat till it turn brown, ( do not cover the pot), Soya sauce can help to add saltiness and color to the meat but I prefer tomato puree( not ketchup).

4 the last step is to cover the meat with the egg plant cubes and the n close the pot leaving the pressure valve open at all time.