Seas project woes

AVForums

Help Support AVForums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gerhard

AVForums Super Veteran
Reaction score
I need some advice on my Seas speaker project.

First some background...

I bought these drivers (Seas H149 & H225) several years ago - without knowing anything about DIY speaker design. I put them in a 3.5l ported box based on a rudimentary design using Speaker Workshop IIRC. Needless to say the performance were less than stellar!

Here are pictures of the drivers:

Front view
Drivers.jpg

Back view

DriversBackII.jpg

Since then I have upgraded my speaker DIY paraphernalia to the extent that I can now design and build proper speakers (tools wise speaking that is...). I have spent the last several months studying speaker design in general and Sound Easy in particular. As a result I have a lot of theoretical knowledge but very little practical experience, hence the reason for this post.

My idea was to build small surround sound speakers for my HT and since Seas claimed a usable frequency range of 45-5000Hz for the woofer, I thought they'd be able to go down quite low.

I have decided to revisit my "design" (more a "klip in die bos" TBH) using my new tools and knowledge. Here are the results so far...

I started by measuring the H149's using SE's Easylab which includes a MLS tool in order to obtain T/S parameters. The measurements were done with the driver magnet clamped to the edge of a large desk in a vertical position. The reference resistor was 11.4 Ohm. I used the delta V (volume) approach using a 3l enclosure.

Below is the free air impedance plot with the extracted T/S parameters.

H149 Free Air Impedance plot
SeasH149-08FreeAirImpPlot.jpg

Measured T/S parameters
MeasuredTSdata.jpg

Seas Published T/S parameters
SeasTSdata.jpg